Why US and European Sunscreen Labels Differ: A Drug in One System, a Cosmetic in the Other

Sunscreen labels differ between countries because the product sits in different legal categories. The United States regulates it as a drug, while the EU regulates it as a cosmetic, and the FDA wrote that contrast into its own order. Category decides which filters reach the list, and which marks reach the bottle. US labels carry no UVA grade at all.

Key takeaways
  • Japan grades UVA protection in four steps, PA+ through PA++++, and its industry standard defines SPF 50+ statistically: the lower bound of the 95 percent confidence interval has to reach 51.0. Japanese bottles also carry a separate water resistance mark where one star means a 40-minute immersion test and two stars means 80 minutes.
  • European labels can show only eight SPF numbers: 6, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 50 and 50+. A product measuring 45 is labeled 30. SPF 45 and SPF 70 cannot exist in that system.
  • The ingredient gap runs both ways. Comparing the two official lists directly, 17 filters are in the EU annex but not in the US monograph, and 5 are in the US monograph but not in the EU annex. The EU has also cut oxybenzone to 2.2 percent for body products and homosalate to 7.34 percent for face products, where US limits are 6 and 15 percent.
  • The bigger gap is not on the label. SPF is measured at 2 mg per square centimeter, and one US study that pooled 38 published values from 1985 to 2020 found 36 of them below that.
Contents
See how people elsewhere are getting through the same thing

Why do the rules differ from one country to the next

The starting point is not a safety verdict. It is a filing category.

The United States regulates sunscreen as a drug, and the stated basis is intended use. The FDA's final administrative order puts it this way: "The intended use of sunscreen drug products is to help prevent sunburn... Additionally, when used as directed with other skin protection, sunscreen drug products with broad spectrum SPF value of 15 or higher are intended to decrease the risk of skin cancer and early skin aging caused by the sun. Therefore, because of their intended use, sunscreen drug products are drugs under United States law."

In the same document the agency names the contrast itself: "The United States classification of sunscreens as drugs is in contrast to other countries, where sunscreens are regulated as cosmetics. Unlike cosmetics, all drug products, including sunscreens, are subject to the safety and efficacy requirements for drug products as set out in the FD&C Act." And it goes one step further, into consequences: "While FDA recognizes that bemotrizinol has been available in sunscreen products internationally for many years and understands the frustration of some American consumers, there is a fundamental difference in how sunscreens are regulated in the United States compared to many other countries."

Those three passages belong together. Pulled apart, the third one reads like a confession that somebody was late. Read together, they say something narrower and more useful: category determines procedure, and procedure determines how fast a list can change. That single causal line is all this article is willing to claim. It is not a ranking.

Category decides more than paperwork. On the same shelf of skin products, it decides who screens you before a prescription: why the same hair loss drug is preceded by a question about depression in one country and arrives without a consulting room in another.

The paperwork on the other side says the same thing from its own direction. The European Commission writes that sunscreen products "are cosmetics according to Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009," and the filters that may be used are listed in Annex VI of that regulation as a positive list. Japan allows only UV absorbers listed in an appended table of the Standards for Cosmetics, a ministry notification. Korea treats sunscreen as a functional cosmetic whose permitted filters and maximum levels are designated in an annex to its cosmetic safety standards, and a filter not designated there cannot be used.

How long are those lists? Longer in Europe, though the number depends on how you count. By substance, Annex VI holds 29 and the US monograph M020 holds 17. Because the EU registers nano forms as separate entries, counting entries brings the European side to 33 rows. Comparing the two lists item by item, 17 filters appear in the EU annex and not in the US monograph, and 5 appear in the US monograph and not in the EU annex. Write only the first of those numbers and the story turns into a verdict about America. The second number is there too.

There is a stranger detail inside the shorter list. The FDA has flagged safety concerns about two ingredients that remain on it, writing that "because of the noted safety concerns with PABA and trolamine salicylate, FDA concludes that sunscreen drug products containing bemotrizinol in combination with PABA and/or trolamine salicylate are not GRASE." Neither ingredient came off the list. The reason sits in a separate file. In September 2021 the agency issued proposed administrative order OTC000008, which would rebuild the GRASE conditions across M020, and the June 2026 order states in a footnote that "the final order contained in this document does not address Proposed Administrative Order OTC000008."

That is the most precise thing in this article, and it took me a while to see why. A short list and a flagged ingredient sitting on that short list are two results of one cause. Under a drug pathway, adding an ingredient takes an order and removing one takes an order, and the order that would clean up the list has been unfinished since 2021. An unfinished order is not a safety finding. How often those two ingredients actually appear in products on US shelves is something this article did not check.

Now the reverse direction, which is the part American coverage tends to skip. A 2022 Commission regulation split the oxybenzone limit by product type: 6 percent for face, hand and lip products excluding propellant and pump sprays, 2.2 percent for body products including sprays, and 0.5 percent otherwise. Products made to the old limit could be placed on the EU market until January 28, 2023 and supplied until July 28, 2023. The basis was a Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety conclusion that the previous maximum of 6 percent was not safe in those uses. Homosalate went the same way, restricted to 7.34 percent in face products excluding propellant sprays, with non-conforming products barred from the market from January 1, 2025 and from supply from July 1, 2025. The US limits are 6 percent and 15 percent, with no product type restriction attached. Octocrylene shows a smaller version of the same pattern: 10 percent in both, dropping to 9 percent for EU propellant sprays.

None of that re-decides whether an ingredient is safe. A committee conclusion about specific product types at specific concentrations is not a general verdict, and this article does not extend it into one. What it does show is that no single jurisdiction is ahead on every line. Europe used filters for years that the US list still does not carry, and at the same time pushed two filters lower than the US allows.

What do the marks on the bottle actually mean

Ingredient lists are a manufacturer's problem. Marks are the reader's problem, which makes this the part worth keeping.

Country or regionUVB indicatorUVA indicatorHow UVA is judgedWho sets it, and is it binding
JapanSPF number, with 50+ allowed only under a statistical conditionPA+ through PA++++, four stepsUVAPF bands of 2, 4, 8 and 16 measured by ISO 24442JCIA industry standard, not legally binding. The filter list itself is a ministry notification
Japan (water resistance)Not applicableThe words UV耐水性 with one star for 40 minutes, two stars for 80 minutesISO 18861 immersion test. Three stars and substitute wording such as waterproof are both barredJCIA industry standard
EUSPF 6, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 50 and 50+, grouped into four categoriesCircular UVA markUVA protection at least one third of the labeled SPF, plus a critical wavelength of 370nmEfficacy criteria are a European Commission recommendation. The circular mark is a voluntary industry mark
AustraliaCancer Council recommends SPF 50 or 50+Whether the product is broad spectrumNo dataInstitutional recommendation. Regulatory sources not obtained for this article
United KingdomNHS recommends SPF 30 or aboveNHS recommends at least 4-star UVA, and the circular UVA mark appears alongside itNo dataNHS health guidance, and the EU recommendation lineage
United StatesSPF number, finished product must reach SPF 2. Only broad spectrum SPF 15 and above may carry skin cancer wordingNo grade. Only the presence or absence of "Broad Spectrum"Mean critical wavelength of 370nm or higherFDA drug monograph. Legally binding
South KoreaSPF number, above 50 shown as 50+PA+ through PA++++, four stepsNo dataMinistry of Food and Drug Safety, functional cosmetic route

Table: sunscreen labeling systems compared across six countries and regions. SPF, PA, the circular UVA mark and the star ratings are four different indicators set by four different bodies.

The same formula can carry different numbers and symbols depending on where it is sold. Do not convert one country's mark into another country's scale. Cells marked "No data" are items this article could not source, and they were not filled in by inference. And this article does not rule on which labeling system is better.

Japan: the star that means forty minutes

JP

Two things on a Japanese bottle tend to be new to readers elsewhere. One is what 50+ means. The other is a mark most people outside Japan have never had explained.

First, the two layers. The filter list comes from a ministry notification. The SPF and PA marks come from a voluntary standard written by the Japan Cosmetic Industry Association, which says so plainly in its own document: "JCIA Standards are voluntary standards... Although JCIA Standards are not legally binding, they are acknowledged as de facto standards by regulatory authority in Japan and should be respected in terms of consumers' trust." The government did not set the PA grades.

The PA bands were revised in 2012 and took effect on January 1, 2013. Take the UVAPF measured by ISO 24442, drop the decimals, and the integer decides the grade: 2 to under 4 is PA+, 4 to under 8 is PA++, 8 to under 16 is PA+++, and 16 or above is PA++++. PA also cannot stand alone. The standard states that "inasmuch as there could not be a sunscreen product that protects against UVA alone, when indicating the above UVA protection efficacy on a product it shall be necessary also to indicate the SPF value."

The 50+ rule carries a statistical condition, which is the detail I would want printed on a poster. When SPF measured by ISO 24444 comes out at 50 or above, the label reads 50+ only if the lower bound of the 95 percent confidence interval reaches 51.0. Below that, it reads 50. So 50+ is not shorthand for "somewhere over 50." It is a claim about how tightly the measurement held.

Then the water resistance mark, set in October 2021. It rests on the ISO 18861 immersion test, and only two immersion conditions may be set: 40 minutes and 80 minutes. On the bottle the phrase is UV耐水性, meaning UV water resistance, and one star after it means the product passed the 40-minute test while two stars means 80 minutes. Three stars may not be used, and the mark may not be replaced by wording such as waterproof. Printing the numeric water resistance result or the confidence interval bound on the label is also barred. The mark has to appear together with SPF, and where PA is shown as well, all three go together. Because the phrase is printed in Japanese, it is effectively a coded mark for anyone who does not read it.

EU: eight printable numbers

The document that sets Europe's minimum performance is a recommendation, not a regulation. A 2006 Commission recommendation fixed three things: UVB protection of at least SPF 6, UVA protection of at least one third of the SPF, and a critical wavelength of 370nm.

The same recommendation nailed down which SPF numbers may appear. Low protection is 6 and 10. Medium is 15, 20 and 25. High is 30 and 50. Very high is 50+. Eight numbers, and nothing between them. Measured SPF from 6 to 14.9 is low, 15 to 29.9 is medium, 30 to 59.9 is high, and 60 or above is very high. A product that measures 45 is labeled 30. That is why SPF 45 or SPF 70 cannot exist in this system, and why the same formula can carry a different number after it crosses a border.

One correction is worth making about the circular UVA mark, because it is widely described as an EU requirement. It is not a mark that law requires. The European Commission's own page introduces the logo as a standardized mark created by Cosmetics Europe, an industry association, and points to that association's website for the logo file. Stated precisely: the EU recommendation sets UVA protection at one third of the labeled SPF or more, and the circular UVA mark announcing that the criterion was met is a voluntary industry label.

Nano forms are handled differently too. The EU registers them as separate entries with their own conditions. Nano titanium dioxide carries purity and crystal form conditions, nano zinc oxide carries its own, and both are barred from uses that may expose the end user's lungs by inhalation. Nano and non-nano together cannot exceed the ceiling. Article 19 of the regulation then requires that "all ingredients present in the form of nanomaterials shall be clearly indicated in the list of ingredients. The names of such ingredients shall be followed by the word 'nano' in brackets." If you have seen nano in brackets on an ingredient list, that is where it comes from. It is a disclosure rule, not a safety verdict.

Claim rules overlap with the US more than you would expect. The Commission recommendation says not to claim 100 percent protection from UV radiation, using words such as sunblock, sunblocker or total protection, and not to claim that reapplication is unnecessary under any circumstances.

Australia: seven teaspoons and a UV index of 3

AU

Australia appears here for what it tells people to do rather than for how it writes rules. A 2026 journal review states that skin cancer incidence in Australia is among the highest in the world, particularly for outdoor workers. The guidance is correspondingly specific.

The Cancer Council's prevention advice runs in five steps: clothing that covers as much skin as possible, a broad spectrum water resistant SPF 50 or 50+ product, a broad brimmed or legionnaire style hat covering face, head, neck and ears, shade, and sunglasses meeting Australian Standards.

The quantity guidance is the part most worth copying out. For a full adult body, at least one teaspoon each for one arm, one leg, the front torso, the back torso, and the face including neck and ears. Seven teaspoons in total, at least 35mL. Apply at least 20 minutes before going out, then reapply after swimming or sweating and every two hours.

The trigger is different too. The advice is not "every day" but every day on which the forecast UV index is 3 or above, with a further recommendation that outdoor workers use protection even on days below 3. That hands the timing decision to a public forecast instead of to how bright it looks. In a review of 25 Australian federal, state and cancer council resources for outdoor workers, 8 of the 12 that mentioned digital channels pointed to a UV index mobile app. The transferable part is not the app. It is the habit of checking the forecast number.

The same body writes its own limits in: "No sunscreen provides full protection so sunscreen should be used in combination with other sun protection measures, clothing, broad-brimmed hats, shade and sunglasses." Or, more bluntly, "sunscreen isn't a suit of armour."

United Kingdom: two UVA marks on one shelf

GB

NHS guidance tells people to pick a product with SPF 30 or above for UVB and at least 4-star UVA protection, and in the same breath explains that the circular UVA mark means EU standards are met. So a single national health page carries two UVA indicators of different origin and different character. How the star ratings are calculated, and who set them, is something this article could not source, so it is left out.

The application advice contains an item that appears nowhere else. Apply twice. The NHS says to apply 30 minutes before going out and again just before leaving, and recommends 6 to 8 teaspoons for a full body. Reapply straight after being in water even with a water resistant product, after towel drying, after sweating, and every two hours. On timing, the strongest sun runs from 11am to 3pm between March and October, and protection should be considered when the UV index is 3 or above.

Line up three sets of clock advice and they disagree. US labeling says 10am to 2pm, the NHS says 11am to 3pm, Australia says UV index 3 or above. Different latitudes and different daylight saving arrangements, one sun. Which is a long way of saying that if you are travelling, use the local rule.

United States: a drug, not a cosmetic

US

The most noticeable thing on an American label is an absence. There is no number or grade for UVA strength. There is a pass and a fail. In the broad spectrum test, a mean critical wavelength of 370nm or higher qualifies, where critical wavelength is defined as the wavelength at which the integral of the absorbance curve from 290 to 400nm reaches 90 percent of the total. Pass and the label reads "Broad Spectrum SPF" followed by the number. Fail and it reads SPF and the number only. There is no arithmetic that turns either into a PA grade.

The wording is regulated as tightly as the testing. Only broad spectrum products at SPF 15 or above may carry the skin cancer and early aging statement, and products that do not qualify must carry the opposite: "This product has been shown only to help prevent sunburn, not skin cancer or early skin aging." Directions are set too. Apply liberally 15 minutes before sun exposure. For children under 6 months of age, ask a doctor. Products that pass the water resistance test say to reapply after 40 or 80 minutes of swimming or sweating, immediately after towel drying, and at least every two hours. Products that do not pass say to reapply at least every two hours and to use a water resistant product for swimming or sweating.

Then, in 2026, the list grew by one. On June 10, 2026 the FDA issued final administrative order OTC000039, adding bemotrizinol to monograph M020 as an active sunscreen ingredient at concentrations up to 6 percent. The document was signed on June 5. The order sets its own effective date as August 9, 2026. Effectiveness was established for adults and children 6 months and older on the basis of two independent human efficacy studies, and dosage forms are specified: oil, lotion, cream, gel, butter, paste, ointment, stick and spray, where a spray must either have no propellant or keep the propellant fully isolated from the formulation.

Three dates, and they are worth keeping apart: signed June 5, issued June 10, effective August 9. An effective date is also not a shipping date. The order carries exclusivity, under which the requester, DSM Nutritional Products LLC, along with its licensees, assignees and successors, may market drug products reflecting the change for 18 months running from the day lawful marketing may begin. What this article can say is that as of August 9, 2026 the rules permit a US product using this filter. Whether such a product is on a shelf is not something we checked.

The procedural story is the more interesting one. The case went through the OTC monograph order request pathway created by the 2020 CARES Act, where a request to add an ingredient is by definition a Tier 1 request, and the request was submitted on September 23, 2024. One year and eleven months from filing to effective date. Set that beside the fact that this is the first active ingredient added to the sunscreen monograph through this procedure, after a period the FDA describes only as many years of international use, and the answer converges. What had been blocked was not the review speed. It was the route.

South Korea: the functional cosmetic category

KR

Korean sunscreen sits in a category called functional cosmetics, meaning the ministry has recognized its UV protection effect, and recognized products can be looked up in the ministry's own database. The marks are the same family as Japan's: SPF as a number up to 50 and 50+ above that, PA in four steps from PA+ to PA++++. The band values behind the Korean PA steps come from a regulation this article could not obtain, so the numbers quoted in the Japan section above are Japan's.

One line in the Korean guidance is hard to find anywhere else. The ministry advises that spray and mist products not be applied directly to the face, because of the risk of the product reaching the eyes or mouth or being inhaled, and says to dispense into the hand first and then apply. Three jurisdictions handle sprays through three different instruments: Korea through usage advice, the EU through concentration limits and product type exclusions, and the US through which dosage forms are allowed at all.

How much are you supposed to use

This is where the article lands. The gap in application amount is larger than the gap in ingredient lists.

SPF is a laboratory value. The US test procedure reads: "Apply the sunscreen test product and the SPF standard at 2 milligrams per square centimeter (mg/cm²) to their respective test sites," followed by a wait of at least 15 minutes before exposure. Korea's ministry describes the same condition, 2mg per square centimeter of skin in clinical testing. The number on the bottle came out of that condition.

Observed use tends to fall short of it. A 2024 online survey of more than 9,000 US adults estimated application thickness from self-reported use and calculated body surface area, and found medians of 1.78 mg/cm² for the face and 1.35 for the body. The mean for the face came out at 3.00, while the body was under 2 on both mean and median. The same study pooled 38 values from studies published between 1985 and 2020 and found 36 of them below 2 mg/cm², across a range of 0.2 to 5. It was a self-report survey, and the authors say so.

Children's numbers run lower. A 2012 crossover study in Queensland observed 87 primary school children 258 times and found a median thickness of 0.48 mg/cm² at the first application on a school morning. The practical finding was about the container: pump 0.75, squeeze 0.57, roll-on 0.22 mg/cm², all significantly different. Container shape moved the amount applied by more than a factor of three.

There is a holiday observation as well. Twenty people watched over a week in Hurghada, Egypt in 2013 averaged 0.79 mg/cm², and with an average product of SPF 15, effective protection in that observational study approximated SPF 3. Twenty people, observational, so it does not travel as a general law.

The last study is the one that changes what you buy. In 2012, 40 participants in each of three Chinese regions were tested with SPF 4, 15, 30 and 55 products at 0.5, 1.0, 1.5 and 2.0 mg/cm² across three laboratories. At low SPF the relationship between amount and protection was linear. At high SPF it was exponential. The authors wrote that "consumers may achieve an even lower than expected sunburn protection from high SPF products than from low SPF sunscreens." That is not an argument that high SPF is pointless. It is a statement that the penalty for under-applying grows with the number on the bottle.

Which fixes the order of operations. Applying enough comes before buying a bigger number. And "enough" has been translated differently by each institution.

SourceWhen to applyHow muchReapplication
United States, FDA labeling rule15 minutes before exposureNo quantity in the rule, only liberally or generously. The SPF test uses 2mg/cm²At least every two hours. Water resistant products after 40 or 80 minutes of swimming or sweating, and immediately after towel drying
United States, AAD guidance15 minutes before, on dry skinAbout 1 ounce for an adult body, a shot glass full, and at least 1 teaspoon for the faceAbout every two hours, and after swimming or sweating. Year round, including cloudy days
Australia, Cancer CouncilAt least 20 minutes before1 teaspoon each for arm, leg, front torso, back torso and face. Seven teaspoons, at least 35mLEvery two hours, and after swimming or sweating
United Kingdom, NHS30 minutes before and again just before leaving, twice6 to 8 teaspoons for a full bodyEvery two hours, and after water, towel drying or sweating
South Korea, ministry guidance15 minutes before going outA sufficient amount, applied evenly. The test condition is 2mg/cm²Every one to two hours during water activities
Japan, JCIANot specified in the labeling standardNot specified in the labeling standardThe label states whether water resistance was tested at 40 or 80 minutes of immersion

Table: when to apply sunscreen, how much, and how often to reapply, compared across national and institutional guidance. The 2mg/cm² test condition sits alongside each body's everyday advice.

Five bodies say 15 minutes, 20 minutes, 30 minutes, and twice. There is no basis here for calling one of them correct. What they share is earlier than you think, more than you think, every two hours.

What you can do with this today

Everything below comes from the regulations and institutional guidance already cited. Nothing here is a product recommendation, and none of it is advice about where to shop.

Count in teaspoons. Australia's Cancer Council puts an adult body at seven teaspoons, at least 35mL. The NHS says 6 to 8 for a full body. The American Academy of Dermatology says about an ounce for the body plus at least a teaspoon for the face. Three institutions arriving in roughly the same place is about as close to a consensus number as this subject offers.

Change the container if the amount keeps coming out low. In the Queensland observation, pump dispensers delivered 0.75 mg/cm², squeeze bottles 0.57, and roll-ons 0.22. Same product, same person, different thickness.

Let the forecast decide, not the sky. Australia's threshold is a forecast UV index of 3 or above, with protection recommended for outdoor workers even below 3. The NHS also points to a UV index of 3 as the point to consider protection.

On an American label, read the two words before the number. With no UVA grade in the system, the presence or absence of "Broad Spectrum" is the whole of the UVA information. And since only broad spectrum SPF 15 and above may carry the skin cancer and early aging statement, a product without that statement has been shown to help with sunburn only.

On a Japanese label, separate the PA count from the water resistance phrase. PA runs from one to four plus signs by UVAPF band and never appears without an SPF value. Where the label reads UV耐水性, one star is a 40-minute immersion test and two stars is 80 minutes. Three stars does not exist under the standard.

On a European label, expect one of eight numbers. Only 6, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 50 and 50+ may be printed, so 45 or 70 will not appear. The circular UVA mark is a voluntary industry mark meaning UVA protection reached at least one third of the labeled SPF. Nano in brackets on the ingredient list is required by the EU regulation.

For sprays, dispense into your hand before the face. That is Korea's ministry advice, on the grounds that direct facial spraying risks the eyes, the mouth and inhalation.

In a car, the windshield and the side window are not the same. In a 2025 study measuring 34 US vehicles from model years 2015 to 2025, mean UVA blocking was 99.25 percent for windshields and 88.78 percent for driver side windows, a statistically significant difference, with mileage rather than model year predicting side window performance. This was 34 vehicles sold in the US, and it does not extend to other countries' vehicles or to building glass.

Do not stretch the interval because of clouds. The AAD advises reapplying about every two hours year round, cloudy days included, and after swimming or sweating.

What has been ruled out

Multiplying the SPF number to calculate outdoor time is rejected by the institutions directly. The AAD writes that "high-number SPFs last the same amount of time as low-number SPFs. A high-number SPF does not allow you to spend additional time outdoors without reapplication."

There is also no such thing as complete blocking. The same source puts SPF 30 at roughly 97 percent of UVB, with higher numbers blocking slightly more, and no sunscreen blocking 100 percent. Which is why the wording itself is regulated. In the US, sunblock, sweatproof and waterproof are false or misleading claims, and a product bearing them is misbranded. The EU recommendation likewise says not to claim total protection or all day prevention. Japan's industry standard bars three stars and bars substituting wording such as waterproof for the water resistance mark, along with printing the numeric result or the confidence interval bound.

Three jurisdictions, three legal instruments, and the same handful of words blocked in all of them. Seeing the word sunblock on a shelf is itself information.

When should you see a dermatologist

This section is not a self-check chart. Read it as a list of changes that are worth an appointment.

The American Academy of Dermatology describes five features it looks for in melanoma. Asymmetry, where "one half of the spot is unlike the other half." A border that is "irregular, scalloped, or poorly defined." Color that varies "from one area to the next, such as shades of tan, brown or black, or areas of white, red, or blue." Diameter, on which the academy writes that "while melanomas are usually greater than 6 millimeters, or about the size of a pencil eraser, when diagnosed, they can be smaller." And evolution, where the spot "looks different from the rest or is changing in size, shape, or color." Note the academy's own caveat on diameter. Six millimeters is not a threshold that clears anything.

The academy's own instruction reads: "If you notice any new spots on your skin, spots that are different from others, or spots that are changing, itching or bleeding, make an appointment to see a board-certified dermatologist." If any of the five features is present, it says to raise it immediately.

One more label item belongs here. US labeling requires every sunscreen to carry the line telling caregivers to ask a doctor for children under 6 months of age. That is an instruction to ask, not a statement that the product must not be used.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked

Which sunscreen filters are not available in the US?

Comparing the FDA monograph list with the EU annex directly, 17 filters appear in Europe's list and not in America's. Under their INCI names, four of them are Methylene Bis-Benzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Drometrizole Trisiloxane and Terephthalylidene Dicamphor Sulfonic Acid. The comparison runs the other way as well: 5 filters are in the US list and not the EU's. One note on that last name, since it comes up often: what this article verified is that it is absent from the US OTC monograph list, not that it is unavailable in the US by any route.

Does "water resistant" mean I can stop reapplying?

No, and every source here says so in its own way. US labeling has water resistant products state a 40 or 80 minute limit for swimming or sweating, plus reapplication immediately after towel drying and at least every two hours. Japan's standard defines its water resistance mark by exactly those two immersion durations and bars the word waterproof as a substitute. The NHS says to reapply straight after being in water even with a water resistant product. In the US, waterproof and sweatproof are misbranding.

Why does every country give a different waiting time before going outside?

Because they are institutional recommendations rather than measurements of the same thing. US labeling says 15 minutes, Korea's ministry says 15 minutes before going out, Australia's Cancer Council says at least 20 minutes, and the NHS says 30 minutes before and again just before you leave. The one point where they agree is that application happens before exposure, not at the door.

Does the word "sunblock" on a bottle tell me anything?

It tells you something about the label rather than the product. In the US, sunblock, waterproof and sweatproof are false or misleading claims that render a product misbranded, and the EU recommendation advises against claiming total protection or that reapplication is never needed. No product blocks 100 percent of UV: the AAD puts SPF 30 at about 97 percent of UVB.

I drive for hours. Do the windows protect me?

Partly, and unevenly. In a 2025 study of 34 US vehicles, windshields blocked a mean 99.25 percent of UVA while driver side windows blocked 88.78 percent, and higher mileage predicted worse side window performance. That is a measurement of those 34 vehicles, so do not extend it to vehicles elsewhere or to windows in buildings. This article has no data on ordinary window glass.

Sources
  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Final Administrative Order OTC000039, Amending Over-the-Counter Monograph M020: Sunscreen Drug Products for Over-the-Counter Human Use, and Related Information (issued June 10, 2026; signed June 5, 2026)
  2. Federal Register. Same order, document number 2026-11578, published June 10, 2026; proposed order, document number 2025-22649, published December 12, 2025
  3. Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, consolidated text 02009R1223-20260501, Article 19 and Annex VI
  4. Commission Regulation (EU) 2022/1176 of July 8, 2022, amending the limits for benzophenone-3 and octocrylene
  5. Commission Recommendation 2006/647/EC on the efficacy of sunscreen products and the claims made relating to them
  6. European Commission. Sunscreen products (origin of the circular UVA logo)
  7. Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (Japan). Standards for Cosmetics, Notification No. 331/2000
  8. Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (Korea). Guidance on using and choosing sunscreen, June 5, 2026
  9. Korea Ministry of Government Legislation. Regulation on Safety Standards for Cosmetics, MFDS Notification No. 2026-19, effective March 18, 2026
  10. Japan Cosmetic Industry Association. JCIA Standards and Related Notifications for Sun Protection Factor (SPF), UVA Protection Grade (PA) and Water Resistance for UV Protection, 2022-09-01 edition
  11. American Academy of Dermatology. Sunscreen FAQs; What to look for: ABCDEs of melanoma
  12. Cancer Council Australia. Preventing skin cancer; Fact sheet: Sunscreen
  13. NHS. Sunscreen and sun safety
  14. Fetzer D et al. A novel online survey approach designed to measure consumer sunscreen application thickness. Journal of Exposure Science & Environmental Epidemiology, 2024
  15. Diaz A et al. The children and sunscreen study. Archives of Dermatology, 2012
  16. Petersen B et al. Sunscreen use and failures, on site observations on a sun-holiday. Photochemical & Photobiological Sciences, 2013
  17. Sunburn protection as a function of sunscreen application thickness differs between high and low SPFs. Photodermatology, Photoimmunology & Photomedicine, 2012
  18. Evaluation of UV-A and UV-B transmission through the windows of gas, hybrid, and electric vehicles. Archives of Dermatological Research, 2025
  19. Skin cancer awareness and sun protection advice for outdoor workers in Australia. Digital Health, 2026
The b-side editorial team

We start from health agencies, medical societies and specialist bodies. Country practices are described as practices, not as claims. Commercial sales pages are never used as sources.

Medical disclaimer

This article is for information only and does not replace diagnosis or treatment. It does not re-adjudicate the safety of any ingredient and does not select a product for any individual. If a change in your skin concerns you, see a dermatologist. Regulatory details reflect the publication dates of the sources cited and may change in implementation. [More](/en/medical-disclaimer) *Last updated: August 12, 2026* Medical disclaimer

Read next